Greenwillow Books

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret

The action-packed sequel to The Lost Legacy, which Booklist called “Monstrous fun!”Living in a hotel full of monsters isn’t always easy. Stephen is trying to adapt as quickly as he can, but there’s still a lot he doesn’t know. When a sorcerer casts a spell on the hotel and all its inhabitants, Stephen and his friends must find a way to undo the magic before their home is changed forever. This mystery-adventure with a time-travel twist is Hotel Transylvania meets Esctheir home is changed forever. This mystery-adventure with a time-travel twist is Hotel Transylvania meets Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.It’s only been a few weeks since Stephen started living at the New Harmonia—a hotel that caters to a supernormal clientele, including bigfeet, vampires, dragons, and talking gargoyles—and he still has a lot to learn. His latest discovery? The lions in front of the New York Public Library are actually sphinxes, guarding a secret treasure trove of magical objects.When a mysterious wizard steals a powerful wand from the collection and casts a spell on the entire supernormal world, Stephen and his friends must find a way to reverse the magic before it becomes permanent. This inventive and accessible mystery-adventure is full of friendship, humor, and a curious cast of characters perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series. read more